The Municipal Election for the City of North Charleston will be held Tuesday, November 8, 2011.

Such election will be held in accordance with the statues of the State of South Carolina and ordinances of the City of North Charleston governing elections.

Every person offering to vote must be duly registered on the County Books of Registration for Dorchester County, as an elector and a resident of the City of North Charleston thirty days prior to the date of election, that being the 8th day of October 2011. Any person wishing to register to vote in this election must do so no later than Saturday, October 8, 2011.

The polls will be opened at 7:00 A. M. and will remain continuously opened until they are closed at 7:00 P. M. on the evening of November 8, 2011.

Voters who are blind, physically disabled, or unable to read or write are entitled to assistance in casting their ballot. This assistance may be given by anyone the voter chooses except his employer, an agent of his employer, or an officer or agent of his union. The Managers of Election must be notified if assistance is needed.

Voters who are unable to enter their polling place due to physical disability or age may vote in the vehicle in which they drove, or were driven, to the polls. When notified, the Managers of Election will help voters using this curbside voting provision.

Registered electors who cannot vote in person may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. Persons wishing more information concerning absentee voting should contact the Dorchester County Registration & Elections Commission by e-mail: or by phone: 843-563-0132. You may also request an absentee ballot application online by clicking here.

This is a non-partisan election and no party affiliation shall be placed on the ballot.

The process of examining the returned-addressed envelopes containing absentee ballots will begin at 9:00 A. M. on the morning of the election in the election office located at 4367 Headquarters Road, North Charleston, 29405. Contact the town at 843-744-VOTE to confirm time.

The following districts and polling places will be involved in this election:

PrecinctPolling LocationDistrict(s) Involved
Archdale 2Fort Dorchester High SchoolDistrict 9
Ashley RiverRiver Oaks Middle SchoolDistrict 9
CoosawFort Dorchester Elementary SchoolDistrict 4
Coosaw 2Fort Dorchester Elementary SchoolDistrict 4
Kings GrantOakbrook Middle SchoolDistrict 9
Kings Grant 2Oakbrook Middle SchoolDistrict 9
LincolnCathedral of PraiseDistricts 1 and 4
OakbrookOakbrook Middle SchoolDistrict 9
PatriotFort Dorchester High SchoolDistricts 1, 2, and 4
WindsorCathedral of PraiseDistrict 4


NameOfficeAddressPhoneEmail Address
Keith SummeyMayor5051 Spaniel
Chris CollinsMayor4654 Spruill
Ed AstleCouncil District 17709 Quest
Gregory A DeeseCouncil District 17777 Oldridge
Rhonda JeromeCouncil District 2PO Box
Robert Bobby JamesonCouncil District 38965 Deerwood
Russell ColettiCouncil District 38107 Long Shadow
Vernon PryorCouncil District 49456 Markley
Brian HillCouncil District 44263 Club
Ron BrinsonCouncil District 48655 McChune
Steve AyerCouncil District 55318 Smokey
Zach ClosserCouncil District 54525 Flynn
Todd OldsCouncil District 54381 Stoney Poynt
Dorothy King WilliamsCouncil District 62502 Jonah
Michael DockeryCouncil District 64777 Arco
Sam HartCouncil District 74789 Hassel
Bob KingCouncil District 81408 Hartford
Russ PattersonCouncil District 84731 Old Park
Joe N CollinsCouncil District 85644 Saxon Street
Kay HymanCouncil District 84734 Marlboro
Dwight StiglerCouncil District 95032 E. Liberty Meadows
Kenny SkipperCouncil District 95486 King Indigo
Michael A BrownCouncil District 102202 Becker
James JohnsonCouncil District 102676 Tillman