The Municipal Election for the Town of St. George will be held Tuesday, April 5, 2011.

Such election will be held in accordance with the statues of the State of South Carolina and ordinances of the Town of St. George governing elections.

Every person offering to vote must be duly registered on the County Books of Registration for Dorchester County, as an elector and a resident of the Town of St. George thirty days prior to the date of election, that being the 5th day of March 2011. Any person wishing to register to vote in this election must do so no later than Saturday, March 5, 2011.

The polls will be opened at 7:00 A. M. and will remain continuously opened until they are closed at 7:00 P. M. on the evening of April 5, 2011.

Voters who are blind, physically disabled, or unable to read or write are entitled to assistance in casting their ballot. This assistance may be given by anyone the voter chooses except his employer, an agent of his employer, or an officer or agent of his union. The Managers of Election must be notified if assistance is needed.

Voters who are unable to enter their polling place due to physical disability or age may vote in the vehicle in which they drove, or were driven, to the polls. When notified, the Managers of Election will help voters using this curbside voting provision.

Registered electors who cannot vote in person may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. Persons wishing more information concerning absentee voting should contact the Dorchester County Registration & Elections Commission by e-mail: or by phone: 843-563-0132.

This is a non-partisan election and no party affiliation shall be placed on the ballot.

The process of examining the returned-addressed envelopes containing absentee ballots will begin at 9:00 A. M. on the morning of the election in the Registration & Elections Office inside the Dorchester County Administration Building located at 201 Johnston Street, St. George, SC 29477. Contact our office at 843-563-0132 to confirm time.

The following precincts and polling places will be involved in this election:

St. George 1In Town Limits Voters Only
St. George 2In Town Limits Voters Only
Indian FieldIn Town Limits Voters Only
Indian Field 2In Town Limits Voters Only