About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Registration and Elections Commission is to offer every county citizen the opportunity to register to vote and to conduct legal, fair and efficient elections so all citizens are assured their vote will be counted.


  • Manages and conducts all federal, state, county, and municipal elections held within the county
  • Processes all county voter registration applications and change of address forms
  • Appoints and trains all poll clerks and poll managers
  • Maintains county election equipment
  • Accurately and publicly tabulates election results
  • Facilitates absentee voting for all federal, state, county, and municipal elections within the county
  • Updates voter information and street address files after the re-drawing of precinct, county council, school trustee, and/or other district boundaries when needed due to growth in the population or following reapportionment
  • Determines the voting locations of precincts with the approval of the Dorchester County Legislative Delegation

Our Commissioners


The Commission consists of between five and nine citizens, at least one of whom shall be a member of the majority political party and at least one member of whom shall be a member of the largest minority political party represented in the General Assembly, who are appointed by the Governor upon recommendation by the Dorchester County Legislative Delegation for two year terms.

Rodney W. Profit, Chair
219 Towhee Drive
Summerville, SC 29485
Arthur Shields
316 Behling St
Saint George SC 29477
Queen E. Bowman
P. O. Box 314
St. George, SC 29477
Ronald S. Jaicks
141 Brandywine Drive
Summerville, SC 29485
Cecil A. Toulon, Jr
122 Golfview Lane
Summerville, SC 29485

Regular Commission Meetings

The Commission normally meets the third Thursday of every month at 4:45 PM in alternating locations between the Summerville Office and the County Office building in St. George.  Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson, acting Chairperson, or majority of the Commission, but no special meetings shall be held unless all members and the public are notified 24 hours in advance of such meeting as stated in the SC Freedom of Information Act.  All meetings of the Commission shall be open to the public except where authorized pursuant to Freedom of Information Act, Section 30-4-70 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, as amended.

Our Staff

The Commission appoints an Executive Director, who is not a member of the Commission, to serve as the administrative head of the Registration & Elections Department. The Director appoints poll managers, clerks, and office staff as needed.

Todd BillmanExecutive Director
Meredith MurrayDeputy Director
Corbin EnsmingerManager of Voter Registration
Sherry DukesRegistration Clerk
Brenda HorneRegistration Clerk
Tommy LeeElection Analyst